The Espresso Quest

Espresso Quest

Espresso Quest

I think this book would be fantastic.  I belive the best thing for me to do is get the thing.  Insurator (what a name) is an Aussie who is just in love with espresso and coffee.  He is a buyer, consultant and works closely with the COE and such.  He is the one that made the $150-+ bid on the Hacienda La Esmeralda last year.

It is a bit expensive, but I imagine that it is well worth the price, in the long run.  Check it out on Amazon and the book’s website.

Excerpt:

“My scientific approach to espresso came from my training. I learned to carefully and laboriously weigh and set a commercial grinder to dispense a precise weight of coffee grinds, accurate down to a
tenth of a gram. What I have since come to realize is that the trouble with this method is that different roast colors and blends will have different densities. So, once the grinder is set for a particular roast,
it will need to be reset for one that varies even by a couple of points on an Agtron spectrophotometer scale. (A spectrophotometer, which measures roast color, is as essential to good coffee roasting as
a thermometer.)
“What I have found during my extensive experimentation, is that beans that look exactly the same
to the naked eye, can taste extremely diff erent depending on how those beans have been roasted. The
spread of difference between the color reading of the outside of the bean and the coffee inside, is also
critical to good flavor development and can only be measured accurately with a spectrophotometer.
I also learned during my scientific training that the speed at which the lever on the side of the
grinder is pulled will vary the amount of coffee that drops into the porta-fi lter. This too will vary
according to the coarseness or fineness of the coffee grinds. Dosing by weight rather than volume
reveals a lack of understanding of the ‘coffee press,’ which is absolutely necessary in order to make
a succulent espresso. This small, but important element, can make the brewing of espresso coff ee
a very inexact, frustrating, and elusive science.”

Wow, I knew that! LOL  Well, at least I “figured” it!

Leave a Reply

