Square Mile Roasters of London chosen for the Holidays!

Square Mile Coffee Roasters is on top of my list this year.

Nikki and I wanted to do something this year out of the ordinary…and that we did. As much as I love Counter Culture Coffee, I live within an hours drive of the place. I was really wanting to do something different this year. Nope, not Intelli, either. They were my introduction into the specialty coffee world. What about West Coast? There are some fantastic roasters out there, like Stumptown or even Ecco Cafe.

But, after some discussion, we landed on Square Mile. Me personally, I just kept coming back to them in my head (good marketing guys). They are working on some special stuff. I like the fact they work with small batches and small numbers of those batches. In other words they don’t have 30 different beans for sale, just six or so and they have rather limited quantities of those beans.

I have an inordanant amount of trust in James Hoffman’s and Stephen Morrisey’s ability and skill and Anette Moldvaer‘s nose and taste buds. All are champions! And I am laying trust in that. I have heard some comments, which shall remain nameless, that swear by the stuff! Honestly, one said the “Winter Espresso” was disappearing in milk. I just can’t help but wonder if it wasn’t a batch error. Afterall, you can’t get every batch perfect. It is coffee, not the Bible.

Anyways, I can’t wait. Here was my order:

That Santa Rita natural has my mouth watering thinking about it.

I will need more coffee for the holidays. That is only four pounds. I am leaning on Stumptown, but your thoughts are important and I desire your comments!

3 responses to “Square Mile Roasters of London chosen for the Holidays!

  1. Interesting you’ve heard about Winter Espresso – it hasn’t been in the webshop and wholesale accounts have only just been getting into it in the last 3 or 4 days.

    The espresso blends are designed for the drinks we like and would want to serve – which isn’t large milk drinks. I can get that if you are used to a darker roasted coffee, or heavier components then it would seem a bit missing in milk.

  2. I would suggest contacting Jason Hurst at AllNiteRoasters.com and ask for some “Giovanna”. It means ‘breath of God’ in Italian. My name is Anthony Epp & I was working at the shop that worked with him to develop it. His Kenya Ichimar is great as well.

    Have fun.

  3. Thanks for that suggestion Anthony. There website sure is nice! I will look into them.

Leave a Reply

